This Mother’s Day, all I wanted was to check things off my To Do list, and that meant farm chores. Getting the baby chicks into a bigger brooder,  for example, finishing the installation of a “baseboard” around the garden that will prevent me from tearing vast holes in the plastic deer fence with the string trimmer (note to self: never use plastic fencing again), and brushing the winter coat out of Emma, the livestock guardian dog. Emma’s fur is rather intriguing from a fiber standpoint. Dog fiber actually has a name, “chiengora,” and as a spinner and knitter, I’m thinking maybe I don’t need sheep after all. Maybe all I need is my sheepdog. It’s 80% warmer than wool and sheds water, but I wonder, would my chiengora sweater smell like a wet dog after I’ve been out in the rain for a while? And would the cat sit on my lap while I’m wearing it?

The chicks were a bit freaked out when we moved them to the new brooder, so I took one that seemed in distress and lay down on the hammock with her on the bib of my overalls. The little incubator chick, who has never known a mother, soon fell asleep under the “wing” of my hand. These pictures are a bit fuzzy because the camera was so close to the chick, but it was such a sweet moment that I want to post them anyway.

Gong . . .

Going . . .

Going . . .

Going . . .

Gone

Gone

